HelpingOthersHelpThemselves

Counseling, Coaching, Psychology, Therapy

Crying in therapy: how important is it?

on October 13, 2015

Down the Rabbit Hole

crying_therapy

I’m one of those people who believes crying is the most effective way a patient can both (a) release emotion and purge buried hurt and pain; and (2) connect with others, especially in a therapeutic setting. The irony here is that I’m also one of those people who has a great deal of difficulty crying in front of others, including therapists. I feel like tears are expected of me, and that tends to inhibit me even more. I don’t like feeling like I have to “perform.” However, alone, I have retrained myself to cry and now can do so quite easily. That’s been a huge breakthrough for me. It’s doing it in front of anyone else where I run into issues.

Why cry?
Most people with NPD (not so much BPD–who tend to be cryers anyway–and people with PTSD/C-PTSD could go either way) probably find it difficult or even impossible…

View original post 844 more words

2 responses to “Crying in therapy: how important is it?

  1. Oh, I cry too easily and so often wish that I didn’t cry at the drop of a hat. I know that it makes some people uncomfortable too. But it is what it is. I always remind myself of a saying a friend needlepointed for me: “Had the eye no tear, the soul would have no rainbows.” So I embrace all my rainbows. Blessings, N 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

